N is for “Nita Naldi”

967664_10203012794057407_1128230304_nHonestly I had no clue who this person was at first. After some researching, I found that Nita Naldi is a a flapper girl who played in some silent films back in the day. By the time I got done drawing this picture, I literally did not have a pencil left.

This was the only quote I could find of hers…

“We were all as blind as bats. Theda Bara couldn’t see a foot ahead of her and poor Rudy (Valentino) groped his way through many a love scene and I really mean groped. They all used big reflectors to get extra light from the sun – that’s how we acquired that interesting Oriental look. We didn’t have any censors in those days, but we did have our own bosoms and our own eyelashes… And we never took ourselves seriously.” – Nita Naldi

"Nita Naldi"

“Nita Naldi”

Check out these fantastic blogs!

http://redstreake.com/

http://writerlysam.com/

10 thoughts on “N is for “Nita Naldi”

  1. Oh Love her name! She was one of the Vamps who ensnared Valentino in 2 of his movies-Blood and Sand and The Cobra. She was in the Famous Ziegfeld Follies when John Barrymore discovered her and had her co-star in his movie Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde. He called her his “Dumb Duse”-not very nice. I recall reading that quote and in the early days of cinema the stars wore that heavy makeup for their eyes. they would get Klieg eyes from the Klieg lights used and it would burn their eyes. They didn’t realize the ultraviolet light was hurting their eyes until a basic glass was placed over the light and that stopped them from being burned and blinded. She didn’t survive sound as she was a temptress but she had a thick Brooklyn accent. love that portrait you did!

    • I KNEW you could tell me something about this chick! Thank you so much, I always look forward to your comments. They’re so interesting! I wish we could’ve seen her in other movies besides silent films. I need to watch some of her silent films. I’m sure they’re just as fabulous as she is. Thank you! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Lauren for the bit of film history with this portrait.
    One of my favorite undergrad classes was a film history class in which we watched film after film after film.
    Regards
    Jim

Leave a Reply

